Two people in Columbia gear hiking in a snow-covered mountain range
As an outdoor company, we make every effort to respect and preserve natural resources. Our goal is to limit our impact on the communities we touch while sustaining the land we love.
  People in hardhats building materials for sustainable water usage.
PLANET WATER
Access to clean water is a pressing global issue. We’re proud to partner with the Planet Water Foundation, a U.S. nonprofit that helps combat our global water crisis by bringing clean water to the world’s most disadvantaged communities.
A person wearing an OutDry Extreme Eco jacket walking up a stony path.
UK NATIONAL PARKS
We are proud to announce a five-year partnership between Columbia Sportswear and the UK National Parks. We will be outfitting the dedicated rangers and staff of the National Park, who protect and promote the most precious and beloved landscapes in the UK.
CONSERVATION
Columbia is dedicated to helping preserve your favorite places for outdoor adventure. We partner with a variety of conservation-focused nonprofit organizations, to provide annual product and cash donations, that help us meet our shared goal of conserving the outdoors. Some of our current partnerships include:
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT
Higg Index in the Supply Chain
Columbia employs a team that is dedicated to assessing environmental impacts from manufacturing. Our objective is to measure, track and improve the energy, waste, water and chemical impacts associated with manufacturing our products. We use the Higg Index Facility Environmental Module to assess supplier performance and identify overall strengths and weaknesses in our supply chain. In 2017, we completed our fifth round of Higg FEM supplier assessments with approximately 99% of our finished goods suppliers and 80% of our strategic raw material vendors completing the assessment. We have been using the Higg Index framework with our finished goods facilities since 2013 and have been seeing consistently positive improvements, such as increased energy measurement and target-setting at a supplier level.
BLUESIGN® SYSTEM PARTNER
Columbia is a bluesign® System Partner. The bluesign® system reduces the environmental impact concerning the entire supply chain through its holistic approach towards inputs stream management. This helps to eliminate harmful substances right from the beginning of the manufacturing process and sets and controls standards for environmentally friendly and safe production. This not only ensures that the final textile product meets very stringent consumer safety requirements worldwide but also provides confidence to the consumer to acquire a sustainable product. In 2017, 50% of strategic material vendors are bluesign® certified.
CORPORATE FACILITIES & LOGISTICS
We are committed to transporting our products using efficient, responsible shipping and packaging practices, and to measuring and managing impacts associated with the operations of our global real estate portfolio. Efficient resource management in logistics and operations starts with standard operating procedures and guidelines that set the stage for consistent practices. Some of our current guidelines include:

  • Packaging material guidelines
  • Packing dimension guidelines
  • Container loading and optimization standards
  • Green building standards
  • Lighting control management systems
  • Automated temperature control management systems
Close close
Please select your shipping location and language
shopping_cart Online shopping available
United States
United States
shopping_cart
Canada
Canada-English
shopping_cart
Canada
Canada-français
shopping_cart
View all Locations

Two people in Columbia gear hiking in a snow-covered mountain range
En tant qu’entreprise axée sur les activités en extérieur, nous nous efforçons de respecter et de préserver les ressources naturelles. Notre objectif est de limiter notre impact sur les communautés que nous touchons tout en préservant la terre que nous aimons.
  People in hardhats building materials for sustainable water usage.
PLANET WATER
L'accès à l'eau potable est un problème d'urgence planétaire. Nous sommes fiers de ce partenariat avec la fondation Planet Water, une organisation à but non lucratif américaine qui participe à la lutte contre la crise mondiale de l'eau en approvisionnant les communautés les plus défavorisées au monde en eau potable.
A person wearing an OutDry Extreme Eco jacket walking up a stony path.
PARCS NATIONAUX DU ROYAUME-UNI
Nous sommes également fiers d'annoncer la mise en place d’un partenariat de cinq ans entre Columbia Sportswear et la direction des parcs nationaux britanniques (UK National Parks). Nous habillerons les gardes-forestiers et le personnel dédié du parc national qui assurent la protection et la promotion des paysages les plus précieux et convoités du Royaume-Uni.
CONSERVATION
Columbia s'engage à vous venir en aide afin de préserver les endroits que vous préférez pour vos aventures dans les grands espaces. Nous travaillons en partenariat avec une variété d'organisations à but non lucratif axées sur la conservation afin de débloquer des dons sous forme d’argent et de produits sur une base annuelle qui nous aident à réaliser notre objectif commun de conserver les grands espaces. Certains de nos partenariats actuels incluent :
GESTION ENVIRONNEMENTALE
Higg Index in the Supply Chain
Columbia employs a team that is dedicated to assessing environmental impacts from manufacturing. Our objective is to measure, track and improve the energy, waste, water and chemical impacts associated with manufacturing our products. We use the Higg Index Facility Environmental Module to assess supplier performance and identify overall strengths and weaknesses in our supply chain. We have been using the Higg Index framework with our finished goods facilities since 2013 and have been seeing consistently positive improvements, such as increased energy measurement and target-setting at a supplier level. See our most recent Corporate Responsibility Report for further details on our progress.
Our Impacts
After completing two consecutive years of global greenhouse gas emissions reporting, impact trends are beginning to emerge for Columbia Sportswear Company. Product manufacturing is the primary contributor to our emissions. Material inputs (77%) and material processing (15%) are the primary contributors to our GHG emissions, followed by product assembly (6%) and finally owned and operated facilities accounting for less than 2% of emissions. Please see the Corporate Responsibility Report for further details.
2019 Emissions by area chart
NOTE: Includes all brands (Columbia, Mountain Hardwear, SOREL, prAna)
Clean by Design
In 2019, we partnered with the Apparel Impact Institutes’ (Aii) Clean by Design program and one of our key manufacturing partners, Formosa Taffeta Co., Ltd., to roll out Clean by Design in three of their facilities – one in Chinese Taipei, and two in China. The Clean by Design program focuses on facility energy and water efficiency optimization. Results are expected in August 2020 and, based on progress thus far, we expect to see significant improvements in all areas.
L’indice Higg dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement
Columbia emploie une équipe qui se consacre à l'évaluation des répercussions environnementales causées par les sites de fabrication. Notre objectif est de mesurer, suivre et améliorer les répercussions liées à l'énergie, aux déchets, à l'eau et aux produits chimiques associés à la fabrication de nos produits. Nous faisons appel au module d’évaluation environnementale des usines de l’indice Higg pour évaluer la performance des fournisseurs et identifier les points forts et les faiblesses de notre chaîne d'approvisionnement. En 2017, nous avons terminé notre cinquième cycle d’évaluations Higg des fournisseurs du secteur de la modélisation par éléments finis (FEM), au cours duquel environ 99 % de nos fournisseurs de produits finis et 80 % de nos fournisseurs stratégiques de matières premières ont réussi à compléter ces évaluations. Nous utilisons le cadre analytique de l'indice Higg dans nos usines de produits finis depuis 2013, et avons depuis constaté des améliorations positives continues, telles qu’une augmentation des mesures de consommation d'énergie et de l'établissement des objectifs au niveau des fournisseurs.
PARTENAIRE CERTIFIÉ PAR LE SYSTÈME BLUESIGN®
Columbia est un partenaire certifié par bluesign. Le système bluesign permet de réduire l'impact environnemental au niveau de l'ensemble de la chaîne logistique grâce à son approche holistique à l'égard de la gestion des flux intrants. Celui-ci permet d’éliminer la présence de substances nocives dès le début du processus de fabrication et permet de définir des normes de production respectueuses de l'environnement et sûres, et les contrôler. Ainsi, non seulement le produit textile fini répond à des exigences de sûreté et de protection du consommateur extrêmement rigoureuses à l’échelle internationale, mais établit également un climat de confiance grâce auquel les consommateurs ont l'assurance qu'ils se procurent un produit durable. En 2017, 50 % des fournisseurs stratégiques de matières textiles ont obtenu la certification bluesign.
INSTALLATIONS DE L'ENTREPRISE ET LOGISTIQUE
Nous nous engageons à transporter nos produits en faisant appel à des pratiques d'expédition et d'empaquetage efficaces et responsables, et à mesurer les répercussions associées aux diverses opérations menées au sein de notre parc immobilier mondial. La gestion efficace des ressources en matière de logistique et d'opérations s'appuie sur des modes opératoires normalisés et des lignes directrices qui créent les conditions requises pour des pratiques homogènes. Certaines de nos lignes directrices actuelles incluent les :

  • Lignes directrices sur les matériaux d'emballage
  • Lignes directrices sur la dimension des emballages
  • Normes sur le chargement et l’optimisation des conteneurs
  • Normes relatives aux bâtiments verts
  • Systèmes de gestion du contrôle de l'éclairage
  • Systèmes de gestion automatisés de contrôle de la température